New to solar energy, need advice for project

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to solar energy, need advice for project

Hello, I'm new to the forum. I'm an artist who's been commissioned to help work on a sculpture project involving solar panels. We're working on a small scale model based off of solar powered flood lights we purchased at home depot. These small floodlights each run on 3.2 volt rechargeable batteries. In it's developmental stage, we have five of these solar panels lined up side by side within the sculpture. Ideally, we'd prefer one solar panel to power all five lamps. I'm not sure how to shop for such a panel. I need to find a suitable panel that is able to power all five lights, and I need to determine it's size so that I can build this sculpture around it. Any help is appreciated! I'm very new to solar energy, so these preliminary steps to the project are the hardest.

We need a lot more info to help you. All we know is the lights require 3.2 volts which tells us the are made for LFP batteries. How may watts are each flood light, and how long do you intend to run them each day in hours.

The big challenge for you is how in the heck are you going to orient the panels to face Solar South with the right tilt angle with no shade all day long. Additionally where do you intend to hide the battery and controllers.
    MSEE, PE

Comment

This Hampton Bay solar light is unbelievably difficult to find wattage on. So far, 70 lumens is the only real information I can find. I've taken the manual apart. I'll keep searching and attempt to take the light apart.
      The design of the sculpture will orient the panels to face Solar South. Hiding the batteries and controllers won't be a concern.

Comment

Originally posted by codexvoid View Post
        T So far, 70 lumens is the only real information I can find..
        Any info on current and voltage wil do it. We know 3.2 volts. Current = ?