X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • wb8erj
    • Sep 2015

A somewhat hybrid solar question

Hello,

I am interested in input from the experts. This is probably not the most cost effective solution, but honestly being a tinkerer, that is not really much of a concern.

This spring I completed an install of a 2.5 KW grid-tied system on the roof of my house. I am quite pleased the performance, and would like to add more panels. I am using Enphase M-215 microinverters with (12) 255 watt panels. My installer told me that the Enphase trunk cable could handle 5 more panels before it is maxed out.

With the layout of my 12 panels in a 3 vertical X 4 horizontal panel arrangement, and adding 5 panels it would leave me an axtra space for one more panel, but it would not be able to be connected to the Enphase trunk. (I hope I made this clear enough..)

So here is the deal. I am a ham radio operator, and I have run my ham station for many years with a 12 volt deep cycle battery and charging it with a DIY charger via 120 volts. Yes being a grid-tied solar system it is charging my ham station, but what if I used that "extra" solar panel to that is physically next to the other grid-tied system, but it would be a second system that was off-grid specifically to run my ham radio station. In doing so, when I lose power, my ham radio station would still be able to have the battery charged.

All panels are up on the roof, and grounded per NEC codes. This would just be a second much smaller off-grid system (one panel 255 watts..) that is for my ham radio station.

Thoughts?

-- Mike
  • inetdog
    Super Moderator
    • May 2012

I see no problems at all in doing that.
    The "extra" system might technically need to have a permit, depending on your local regulations, but the wiring should be simple and there will be no interaction between the two systems.