Expandable Solar Panel Starter System

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Expandable Solar Panel Starter System

I'm not looking for cheap (i.e. chinese). I'm not looking for expensive. I'm looking for quality and reliability.

But more importantly, I'm looking to start small and build. This is not only for a real application, but also as a learning experience

I'm an Electrical Engineer. I'm 100% sure I could figure this all out. But I'd like to save some time, by asking those who have already been there.

Requirements:
    1) eventual design goal, 12-15K
    2) designing for off-grid, and battery storage
    3) I'd like to minimize replacing components as system grows
    4) I'd like to start with 2-4 panels, and generate around 1000W to start with.

What I would like to know are a few basic things. I understand the architecture of the system, but I'm not familiar enough to the components to know what the best way to go is. For instance, an inverter that can't work at 15K doesn't do me any good. One that will work well at 15K might not work well at 1K.

* should I use 100W, 250W, 500W panels,
    * what technology for the solar panels
    * what inverter should I consider (brand, model)
    * what charge controllers should I consider (brand, model)
    * do I need charge controllers or does the inverter do all the work to go from Panel to battery, and back to AC? (might be stupid question)
    * and what are the best batteries, considering reliability, and length of time they will work.

What I would like to do, is buy a quality minimum set of hardware and be able to expand it as I need. Starting small is so I can learn to work with all of this. Like I said, I'm an electrical engineer and have a basic understanding already. But don't have the experience to know what to consider at the get-go.

This is my basic understanding what a solar system should require. Did I leave anything out?

solar_system.jpg