Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • britincali
    • Jul 2019

Add 2nd System without impacting 1st?

Hi. I'm in Southern California and I have a 25 panel system installed by SolarCity a couple of years back. It's not big enough for our load and I don't want to give Tesla any more money as they were horrible to deal with and the 25 panels we have perform poorly. However I have 23 years left of their warranty, so don't want to mess that up.

I have a flat garage roof next to the Solarcity inverter and distribution box. I have space for another 8 or so panels.
    I've seen that I can DIY for a lot less cash. I'm an Electronics Engineer and I design things a lot smaller than these, but the background is the same. I may also look at a DIY solar battery as part of it too.

The distribution panel is a SC2040M200PF. Looking at the rather sparse data on it I see the smart meter plugs in to the panel and it looks like the inverter output goes right in.
    I took a look inside the hatch that the solar power conduit goes into, and it dissapears into the back of the smart meter area.

If I wanted to add a 2nd system with a separate inverter how would I go about connecting it? I'm assuming I can't simply wire it in parallel with the output of the Solarcity inverter box?

Some photos for reference

Free image hosting and sharing service, upload pictures, photo host. Offers integration solutions for uploading images to forums.

Free image hosting and sharing service, upload pictures, photo host. Offers integration solutions for uploading images to forums.

Thanks
    Marc
  • sdold
    • Jun 2014

Hi Britincali, welcome to the forum.