No announcement yet.

oh no another confused newbie, solar data sheets what to use to spec the system

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• oh no another confused newbie, solar data sheets what to use to spec the system

hello all, I am planning on moving to Hawaii and the lot i have purchased is far from utilities. I have been working on a system but am completely lost with these panel data sheets. i am an industrial maintenance tech and most of what i deal with is 480 3 phase power. these sheets have open circuit, short circuit bla bla bla. I realize it is somehow figured on the curve of full sun, no sun, load and no load. my basic question is what set of voltage numbers and amp numbers should i use to configure wiring and fuses and components.

secondary question is i would like to run 2 charge controllers mainly for redundancy since if i have a failure i would rather have 1/2 a working system until it can be repaired. I am wondering if i will loose any efficiency in the panels since the charge controllers are supposed to optimize the panels. I have a small drawing of my plans so far if someone sees a problem please let me know. right now i am using the highest output numbers on the data sheets.
    plan.png

It is hard to tell how you wired those 200 watt panels to each CC. If you provide the panel spec (Voc, Vmp & Imp) we can help you determine if they are optimally wired for those CC's

Next, if you have 4 x 6V 240Ah batteries wired in series it creates a 24V 240Ah battery system. If you wire two sets of 4 in parallel you get a 24V 480Ah battery system not a 1920Ah system.

The 6V ratings adds up if wired in series and the 240 Ah will stay the same. The 240 Ah adds in parallel wired circuits and the 24V voltage stays the same.

Comment

sorry for the battery part 1920 is what i need. the panels i am looking at are 200watt, VOC 44.56,VMP 36.7, ISC 5.99, IMP 5.45 VOC temp co%0.33.