X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Philipp
    • Feb 2018

Looking for solarpanel mount, winter angle adjustable, ice daming proof

Hello Forum,

I am an architect from Switzerland having the chance to building in Canada.
    It will be an offgrid small cottage home with solar power.

The design is a flat roof with the panels mounted a bit off the roof because of snow.

I am working with a local installer who has warned me that daming will be a problem and
    has shown me pictures of broken panels.

I was wondering if there are any mounts which are flexible to give in to daming?
    Or how is this usually dealt with? I thought that if they are a foot of the ground, they might
    be covered in snow, but daming would't be a serious problem.

The other thing is, that I would like to be able to adjust the angle for winter time.
    Are there no mounts which have two positions and can be angled by hand?
    Something really low tech, same principle as a classic wooden beach chair..

thanks everybody!

Philipp
  • bcroe
    Solar Fanatic
    • Jan 2012

Your problems will be less if you can mount panels on the ground, preferably at least 1 meter high, though in
    Canada that may not be enough to keep them clear. Leave 20 cm gaps all around the panels to greatly
    ease the work of clearing the snow. Bruce Roe

PV16D2.JPG

Comment

• J.P.M.
      Solar Fanatic
      • Aug 2013

OP: listen to Bruce. I don't always agree with his opinions but he got his chops on the subject the hard way. Hard to argue with experience.

Comment

• DanS26
        Solar Fanatic
        • Dec 2011