X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • John Doe
    • Dec 2017

Solar prototype questions (newbie).

Hey folks,
    I'm a newbie in Solar trying to learn. Best way I learn is by doing things very small and expanding. My goal is to charge DC devices in my house like cell phones, laptops via clean solar power. I will not be using an inverter or grid-tying it. My plan is to buy a battery bank and charge it via two 12V/20Watt panels in series. So I get 24V with very little amps. My house has a satellite dish on the roof and the coax cable comes into the house, the cable is 18 AWG CATV6. This cable is capable of handling the volts and the amps. I will remove the satellite dish and mount the panels on the J-Pole. I have attached the setup to this post. The solar panels will be connected to a Buck Converter that takes in 24V and steps it down to either 19V or 5V (depending on how I adjust it). It will take the extra volts and convert it to additional amps (sort of like an MPPT controller). The battery bank I'm using with either take input 19V or 5V to charge. The battery bank will also either output 19V for laptops and 5V for cellphones/tablets.The battery bank has internal circuitry to shut off power when full charged so I wont be using a controller.

My questions are;
    1. Is it ok to use the 18AWG coax cable to carry 24V with ~0.56 Amps in house?
    2. am i using the right fuses as shown in the diagram?
    3. any other things I'm missing/suggestions ?

Thank you in advance,
    John
    Attached Files
  • Mike90250
    • May 2009

A Buck converter, will pulse itself on & off all day, loosing quite a bit of harvest - Because the sun varys quite a bit in the course of a day. You need a true MPPT circuit to get the most harvest out of your small panels..
    Only need a fuse at the battery, 2 small panels usually can't produce enough power to light a fire.