Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • buccscott
    • Jun 2016

Thoughts on My First Solar Design

Let me preface this by stating I am a Radio Engineer and am generally very good at network design, specifications, and requirements. However, trying to design my first solar system has me a bit out of sorts. This is most likely due to the fact that it is my money I am investing and power generation/storage is a bit out of my wheel house. That being said, I thought I would throw my draft design out for review by the more knowledgeable members of this forum.

I have watt metered my daily usage and it is pretty minimal. I will be running a fridge and an attic fan or two daily (live in FL). I will also be charging some 18v tool batteries, and a small battery charger/conditioner, etc. from time to time. I also want to have the capacity to run a portable A/C unit and a few other small items in the event of a power outage. I don't want to have to rely on a gas powered generator when the next hurricane hits.

Here is what I have come up with:

4 x 300 Watt 24v ~9.5A Renogy Panels (series/Parallel) ~ 48v ~ 19A home run to controller

1 x Midnite Solar Classic 150 Charge Controller (to allow for a bit of expansion if I get addicted to solar)

8 x 215AH 6v Batteries Connected in Series (48v @ 215AH = 10320 Watt Hours) This gives me ~ 5k per charge @ 50% Discharge to work with.

1 x 1500 Watt 48v Inverter (My AC pulls 1000 - 1100 watts on high leaving me a bit of breathing room to charge phones in an emergency, run a few LED bulbs, etc.)

My biggest questions are:

Do I need to fuse the leads on a 4 panel (2x2) Series/Parallel configuration? I plan to insert a DC breaker before the controller to isolate the panels for maintenance.