Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Have Panels put up by a roofer?

Hello,
    I've been thinking about going solar for a while. Now that the Republicans are taking over, I suspect that the 30% tax credit may be going away, and it's starting to seem more urgent. Does anybody know any reliable contractors in the SF Bay Area? I worry about the quality of installation. I have a newer house with a Spanish Tile roof, and I understand that there are good ( expensive ) mounting systems, and also less good ones. Solar savings could quickly evaporate if the roof leaks! Or if the panels blow off in a high wind....

I am a pretty good electronic tech ( used to do it for a living ), and also have experience in doing NEC-compliant electrical work. I feel confident that I can set up inverters, rewire breaker boxes etc. But I don't want to climb on the roof. Getting old, bad back. Maybe I could have the panels themselves installed by a roofer and do the rest myself? That way, I would have complete control over the type of equipment.

Originally posted by jerry1234 View Post
    Hello,
    I've been thinking about going solar for a while. Now that the Republicans are taking over, I suspect that the 30% tax credit may be going away, and it's starting to seem more urgent. Does anybody know any reliable contractors in the SF Bay Area? I worry about the quality of installation. I have a newer house with a Spanish Tile roof, and I understand that there are good ( expensive ) mounting systems, and also less good ones. Solar savings could quickly evaporate if the roof leaks! Or if the panels blow off in a high wind....