DIY Grid Tied Syestem Installation Experience and Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DIY Grid Tied Syestem Installation Experience and Questions

Hello everyone! My first post on the forums I have always been interested in installing solar and in renewable energy in general. I am installing solar on my parent's house (currently i am an electrical engineering student) Anyways I thought I would tell a bit about our experience so far and ask any questions I may have for those who have been there done that. First off I will say the process has been lengthy and stressful to say the least. I live in Southern California Palmdale to be more specific. Our utility provider is Southern California Edison their process for grid interconnection is now relatively easy and straight forward they really don't require anything besides you filling out an agreement form and uploading documents and details about your system and provide a modern online way of completing the process. They do require the system to be permitted and inspected by the local AHJ or authority having jurisdiction, for us that is the City of Palmdale building and safety. This is where the headache begins. Its a shame how difficult and deterring Palmdale makes this process, they have not adopted any expedited permit process nor are they willing to work with owner builder installers. They insisted that homeowners can build any project on their own house and pull their own permits except solar. Of course they cant point me to anything that says so. On top of that their staff are very rude and belittling trying to make me feel as if I am not qualified or capable of performing the job. They thought they were going to turn me around and that I would never be back (little do they know I have over $4000 in solar equipment taking up my paring space in the garage). Needless to say I went back with all the documents they required except structural calculations which have to account for 110mph wind