X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another newbie

Hi Everyone my name is Rob and I'm a complete novice when it comes to solar power. I'm hoping some of you more knowledgeable people will be able to help me. I'll be back soon with questions
    Last edited by robjenko; 12-03-2018, 08:45 AM.

Originally posted by robjenko View Post
    Hi Everyone my name is Rob and I'm a complete novice when it comes to solar power. I'm hoping some of you more knowledgeable people will be able to help me. I'll be back soon with questions
    If you do what you can to inform yourself and seek answers to your questions on your own before you look to be spoon fed answers, you'll learn more, faster and also ask better formulated questions when you do ask them. That method will save all of us a lot of time. Your proactive consideration will pay big dividends.

Welcome to the neighborhood.

Add: Start your self education with a book: "Solar Power Your Home for Dummies" .~ $25 @ bookstore or amazon. A good primer.
    Last edited by J.P.M.; 12-03-2018, 04:20 PM.

Comment

Hi Rob,

Welcome! Let's start with the basics:

1) What state do you live it?
      2) Roughly how large is your home, how old, how well insulated?
      3) What kinds of heating, cooling, do you have? Using which fuel(s)?
      4) How many MWh do you use annually on your electric bill
      5) Do you own? Do you have an HOA?
      6) Are you considering ground mount or roof mount?
      7) What size electrical panel do you have? (e.g. 200 amp?)
      8) What is your main goal(s) for solar?
      9) How long do you plan to live in your home?
      10) Do you have or plan to add any electric vehicles in the next couple years