X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ExtraordiNary
    • Sep 2018

Breakers

Can I use a reconditioned breaker on a job or does it have to be UL approve. At what point can I not use a breaker on a job. Dealing with a strict AHJ
  • Sunking
    Solar Fanatic
    • Feb 2010

Originally posted by ExtraordiNary
    . Dealing with a strict AHJ
    Kind of a silly question you already answered. You are going to use a breaker listed for the intended purpose. Kind of like asking a doctor if you should smoke.

MSEE, PE

Comment

• ExtraordiNary
      • Sep 2018

Again nabcep question basically asking that you are doing a job and about to finish but all they gave you was a reconditioned breaker do you use it or wait four weeks to order one that's UL listed. I have been installing solar for five years. I get install part I guess I just got to get better at the why am I doing what I am doing, if that makes since.

Comment

• SunEagle
        Super Moderator
        • Oct 2012

Originally posted by ExtraordiNary
        Again nabcep question basically asking that you are doing a job and about to finish but all they gave you was a reconditioned breaker do you use it or wait four weeks to order one that's UL listed. I have been installing solar for five years. I get install part I guess I just got to get better at the why am I doing what I am doing, if that makes since.
        Based on my 40 year experience. Most AHJ's never cut corners and don't care how long it takes someone to finish a project as long as it meets their approval.

Comment

• sdold
          • Jun 2014

Does reconditioning invalidate the UL listing? Seems like that would be the answer, but I don't know.

Comment

• Mike90250
            • May 2009

If there is a visible UL imprint on the breaker and nothing indicating it's invalid, how would someone know it's been reconditioned ?