Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New Phoenix go'er here. Just starting the process.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Phoenix go'er here. Just starting the process.

Hi all,

Introducing myself here per the rules. Like to be on the good side of things

I'm a computer need by trade, with some basic electrical knowledge but not extensive in PV. Also quite handy with tools, I do my own remodeling. After getting numerous solar quotes I am amazed at how someone can pay a company over $17k for three days of labor. $37k quotes on less than $20k (retail price) in materials. Some of these installers just flat out rip people! So decided to do this myself.

Starting the process for an 11.7kw roof system with APS poco in AZ. We got lots of A/C consumption so the goal is to allow me to run our A/C units as much as we want, especially during the day, without worrying insanely about the bill.

Roof is west-north-west, about 300 degrees, so we got some loss due to non optimal orientation, but mostly just in winter. And with APS the expensive consumption time is 3-8p, so it more than makes up for it to have west facing production an hour to two later in the day.

By calculations, I'll be able to run both ac units non stop until 6pm, then drop to just one ac unit (to keep demand charges lower), and still be able to save $160+ a month compared to before.

6-8 with half a/c beats the old plan of 12-7 with little to no a/c, so looking forward to getting this thing going and enjoying 75 degrees again!

I mostly will just lurk here. I have the system planned out already and am working on the permit doc's now. 72 cell silfab 345w, Enphase iq6+, ironridge xr100, quickmount tile, and roof penetrations for ac home runs thru attric. Easy peasy.

Look forward to exchanging thoughts, banter, and general despise for product or company x with you all.

​​​​​​