X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Considering Solar in RI

I've gotten quotes from 6 companies and I've narrowed it down to 3 - Direct, RGS, SolarFlair. Direct and RGS quotes include LG300 panels, SolarFlair - Canadian CS6K-280M. All suggest Enphase M250 Micro Inverters. I have a 14 degree, 200 azimuth roof they will go on. My question is are 300 W panels overkill considering that I'll have only 250 W inverters or because of the loss of efficiency due to the poor roof angle the 300 W panels are a good thing? If I'm understanding azimuth charts correctly at best I'll get about 70% efficiency in the winter and 90% in the summer at high noon.

Originally posted by riken View Post
    I've gotten quotes from 6 companies and I've narrowed it down to 3 - Direct, RGS, SolarFlair. Direct and RGS quotes include LG300 panels, SolarFlair - Canadian CS6K-280M. All suggest Enphase M250 Micro Inverters. I have a 14 degree, 200 azimuth roof they will go on. My question is are 300 W panels overkill considering that I'll have only 250 W inverters or because of the loss of efficiency due to the poor roof angle the 300 W panels are a good thing? If I'm understanding azimuth charts correctly at best I'll get about 70% efficiency in the winter and 90% in the summer at high noon.
    On inverter sizing: Run PVWatts w/ 10 % system losses, change to a 1.2 AC to DC size ratio from the advanced parameters and choose the hourly output option. Then go back and change the AC - DC to 1.0 and look for differences in the annual output from the 1.2 ratio. That'll be a SWAG at annual clipping penalty.

At that az., tilt and location, I doubt a 300 Watt panel will get close to 250 Watts output much, if at all.

Why not use a properly sized string inverter ? If nothing else, usually or often a bit less initial cost, and some would argue more reliability for lots of reasons.

Comment