Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Are these panels suitable for 12v battery charging?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Are these panels suitable for 12v battery charging?

Hi. I am a newbie to solar (but with good background in electronics).
    I am building a "hobby" system just to learn. Will not be using this in real-world.

I have been given some free panels - SRP Model BBPV-250W. Specs are -
    Vmp (voltage at peak power) 47.2V
    Imp (current at peak power) 5.30A
    Why is the Vmp rating so high for this panel??

I realise this Vmp is much higher than I have typically read about in blogs.
    Can I use this panel with a 12 solar controller and charge a 12V battery?
    I have a cheap 40A MPPT charger so I think it should work.

Any suggestions, advice, comments, warnings?
    Much appreciated

The specs for the charge controller will have maximum input v.

Comment

Thanks for your post Bala. I know what you are saying but interestingly the charge controller (cheap Chinese brand) has no Vmax rating.

It does however say "Solar panel voltage: 12v with 18v panel, 24v with 36v panel". But I'm not so worried about maxing out the controller. I have already connected the panel and it didn't blow up!!.

I was really just trying to learn & understand why the panel has such a high Vmp (47.2 V) ? ...and how such a high MPP of 47.2 V will be relevant when charging a 12 V system. Everything I read about 12V systems have panels at 18V or so.

I have a feeling this type of panel would be better matched to a 48V system? I suspect the panels came from a grid-tied system so they might operate at a higher voltage.

But will it work successfully on a small-scale 12 v battery system???

Comment

Are you in Cairns Qld?

Yes most likely a grid panel at that w and v.

The charge controller input will determine if it will work with 12v. I suppose it either will or it will burn.

Most cheap mppt controllers are not mppt, they are PWM.