How to Measure Array Power Ouput at the Charge Controller

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to Measure Array Power Ouput at the Charge Controller

We bought an off-grid cabin that came with a small 12V 4-panel solar system. The array is 2 mono and 2 poly. The panels are old and weathered, with no visible labels, so I can't tell the model or specs. I'd like to measure the power feeding into the charge controller from the array. How would I do that? (The charge controller is a cheap Chinese job and the controls are cryptic. Can't figure out how to get it to show me the input power from the array.) Utter NOOB here
    Last edited by eric@psmnv; 05-08-2020, 04:38 PM.

The best way would be a DC clamp on Ammeter. If you are trying to measure the output of the panels you will need to put a load on the system to make sure the charge controller is not limiting the panel output. If the batteries are fully charged then the charge controller will only pull enough Amps from the panels to trickle charge them.
    9 kW solar, 42kWh LFP storage. EV owner since 2012

Comment

Originally posted by Ampster View Post
      The best way would be a DC clamp on Ammeter. If you are trying to measure the output of the panels you will need to put a load on the system to make sure the charge controller is not limiting the panel output. If the batteries are fully charged then the charge controller will only pull enough Amps from the panels to trickle charge them.
      Thanks for replying, Ampster. I happen to have a Meterk MK05 DC clamp-on Ammeter. The batteries are low-ish, and there's a load on the system from some household electronics. What would be the actual procedure?

Comment

Just place it over one of the wires. Checking a wire from the panels to the charge controller will give you the panel output in Amps. That times voltage will be Watts.

Comment