No announcement yet.

Question regarding replacing a small generator with solar/battery for a cabin

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question regarding replacing a small generator with solar/battery for a cabin

Up front, I have very little knowledge about electrical systems general and solar in particular. I have an off grid log cabin, built last year, that the builder set up for use with a generator. I have a small (3500 w dual fuel Champion) generator that I use for basic things like a few lights, an overhead fan and charging the phone and laptop. There won't be any power hungry devices like an a/c unit, fridge or the like. I don't know the technical terms for what I have, but on the outside of the cabin there is a power inlet box with a cord and plug that I plug into the generator's 30 amp RV output plug, and inside the cabin there are about 5 receptacles for things to be plugged into. I hope I haven't screwed up the terminology too much...

I'd like to have a solar system to power the cabin in addition to the generator (the generator is too dang loud, and I'm a bit of a trip away from the nearest propane station).

I know I'll need a solar panel, deep cycle batteries and an inverter, but I have no idea whether that's all I'd need.

In particular, can I use the batteries that are charged by the solar system to plug into the exiting power inlet and have it provide electricity through the existing receptacles?

Again, sorry for any weird wording or missing information, and thanks for any help.

Welcome, and get your checkbook out !!
    Panels. Solar Charge Controller. Wires & J-boxes & Combiner boxes, Fuses or Circuit Breakers, Inverter. AC Transfer Switch. That would get you started.