Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Pentos
    • May 2018

Laptop keeps crashing my solar rig

Hi folks, Newbie here with a bit of a prob I hope someone can help with. I have a very small simple rig set up in the shed at the end of the garden that's going to be my "office", comprising a 150w panel, a controller and a 100AH deep cycle gel battery. I've put in some 12v lights and these work just fine. The other thing I want to power is my laptop (a 2011 MacBook Pro). I've not incorporated an inverter as I plan to run everything on 12v DC, and have a car charger for the laptop for the purpose. BUT...whenever I plug this car charger in, everything cuts out, and thats before I even connect it to the laptop. Has anyone any idea what I might be doing wrong? In case it's of help, these are the specs of the charger. Its a 12v car charger (the cigarette lighter socket type) Input: 11.5v - 16v dc 5.6A max Output: 18.5v 4.6A The proper apple mains charger is: Input: 100-240v 1.5A 50-60hz Output:18.5v 4.6A Ive tested the rig with other 12v car appliances eg phone charger, which work just fine. I'm completely stumped so any help or suggestions very gratefully received. Thanks Pentos

• bcroe
    Solar Fanatic
    • Jan 2012

What, the LED lights work OK, but go out when the charger is connected? That is just about impossible,
    unless you have something between the battery and the LEDS. Are you going through a LOAD connection
    on a charge controller? If so try connecting the LEDs direct to the battery (series fuse is good), then add the
    laptop charger the same way. The LEDs should come on, and stay on as the charger connects. Bruce Roe

Comment

• littleharbor
      Solar Fanatic
      • Jan 2016

Have you installed a 12 volt socket? If so does other stuff work fine on it? Just wondering if the polarity is reversed on the socket.
      2.2kw Suntech mono, Classic 200, NEW Trace SW4024

Comment

• Mike90250
        • May 2009