Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie here, looking for advice on new system

Hi all!
    Admin set my permissions right and I'm able to start a thread Hooray!

I'm new to this forum and into solar systems as well. I am big enthusiast but since I have no experience, I want to setup a small system that will allow me to run a pc/server on solar, so that I get involved and gain some experience in the field. Long (well much much long) term, I would like to go off-grid for my entire home.
    That equipment would draw up to 250W 24/7 when possible. I say when possible because its not the end of the world for me if it shuts down for a few days during the year (1 full day on batteries is ok for me). I live in Athens, Greece and it's sunny most days of the year.
    The tricky parts are that 1.I have a limited budget and 2.the fact that I want to be able to upgrade (till the end of the year possibly) to 350W-400W.
    I have given it a try to design something to meet my needs, don't be too harsh on me that's my first attempt

So the basic idea is to start with 3 solar panels, 2cc, 6 batteries and a relatively big inverter.
    I chose to go with 3 30A inverters for a couple of reasons. A) because its almost the same price to buy 3x30A or 1x100A, B) if one fails cost of replacing is less than replace a big one, C) I can't afford to go to the full setup at the moment. Fuses are not in the design yet, will add them when I am confident with the basic setup.

Please let me know what you think, will it work, is it too much, too many components maybe? Your feedback is appreciated!

Why multiple battery banks?
    you sho solar in parallel in mppt but it should be serial. You likely can have three in series.

you also show inverters connected to charge controllers, it doesn
    OutBack FP1 w/ CS6P-250P http://bit.ly/1Sg5VNH

Comment

I think I understand what you are saying, I gave it another go: