Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Rollo
    • Nov 2017

Off grid solar array. 1or 2 or 3 arrays

Hi all first thanks for allowing to join. Have been reading a lot of posts on this forum and thumbs up to how questions have been asked and answered. OK this is my first post and I hope it is in the correct area or field . I am new to solar and have sort of started back wards in building a system. Meaning I bought a box of (50x75w fs-275) this film solar panels about a year half ago from the local mens shed. $250au. Could not pass it up. Now i am starting to buy items to make it work.. But before I do I would like some input into what would work best for the solar array or arrays. Total Max watt is 3750 worth of panels. I have decided to start out with a 24v system. My question is should I make up 3 panel arrays or 2 panel array or one. In live in country western Australia where sunny days for long periods are the norm. My battery bank is to start 8 x 200amp in series to make 24v. I have already bought a 24v pure sine inverter 3500/7000. But am stuck on what to do about mppt controller or controllers. It will depend on array or arrays. What array would be best.
  • AzRoute66
    Solar Fanatic
    • Jul 2017

Welcome to the forum,

If you are building an off grid system, and if your mid-day and total power production is well covered I would suggest 'virtual tracking'. This involves pointing one array easterly and one westerly, and can be augmented with some pointed northerly. You won't increase total production, but you will increase the amount of time that you are generating meaningful production. This can be very useful in getting the batteries fully charged.

I'm am guessing that you mean that you have two strings of four 6v batteries for 24V. Not sure if you mean each battery is 200 Ah, or if you mean that the two strings make up the 200 Ah. That will be important to know prior to figuring out if virtual tracking makes sense for you.