Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Aloha in advance. Solar newbie needs help with system.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aloha in advance. Solar newbie needs help with system.

Aloha guys and girls
    I'm a newbie to solar, yet a quick learner. I Could use some help with figuring out my some issues with my off grid setup. Please feel to chime in.

12v Setup as follow:

Solar panels: 5 Hyundai @270 watts: 31.4v:8.6A. (1350)

Charge controller: Tristar ts-60 pwm

Battery's: 12v 8 140ah eaton battery's

Wires: BIG (not sure on gage)

Multimeter: eBay 13$

Load/usage:

I run (8) 13 watt led lights for 10 hours a night and I'm looking to add another 8(fingers crossed) 8x13=104wh=104x10hrs=1040wh a night I use according to a formula I got off a website while researching about off grid set up. (Correct me if I'm wrong on the formula)

Issues:
    While load is on, my multimeter reads 40w being drawn, and at the end of the 10 hours only 400 wh was used not the 1040 the formula suggest. Either my formula is wrong or my meter is worth the entire 13 dollars I spent on it. Chime in please?

Issue 2:

On a good day my system hits 100-200ah and on what I call a bad day it averages from 50-100ah. The amps generated from my array average 10-40 throughout the day. My battery's hits Pmw mode but never equalize or float. My question is ideally speaking how long will I have to charge them to enter these charging states? Is my usage to much for my system?

Issues 3
    Battery's got to its lowest this morning 12.33 (scares the hell out of me) with the load on, after load was shut off the multimeter read 12.42 as the sun came out it got to 13.15 at its peak(no where near 15.0 Pmw)

12.42-12.90 at the end of the day which hit 210ah from my array, does that sound good? Again I'm reading this all off of my multi meter.

Any help would be good. I'm just trying to learn and run a efficient solar system.

Aloha
    Hidope808