Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • crustbottle
    • Sep 2017

Advice on building my 7920KW system off grid solar system

I am a newbie to solar but have been doing a lot of research on how to setup an off grid system. I have some questions regarding where would I put circuit breakers or fuses. Like should I put one before or after the battery bank. Let me know what you guys think of my system so far in the picture. I'm using a 96 volt system because I got the charge controller and inverter basically for free.
    Attached Files
  • J.P.M.
    Solar Fanatic
    • Aug 2013

7,920 kW (7.92 megaWatts) is a pretty big system for a newbie.
    Hope you have about 50-60 acres to put it on.

Maybe you mean 7.92 kiloWatts, or, 7,920 Watts ?

Comment

• max2k
      • May 2015

Originally posted by J.P.M.
      7,920 kW (7.92 megaWatts) is a pretty big system for a newbie.
      Hope you have about 50-60 acres to put it on.

Maybe you mean 7.92 kiloWatts, or, 7,920 Watts ?
      details, details- who needs them?

Comment

• sensij
        Solar Fanatic
        • Sep 2014

Please post the specific model numbers of the inverter and charge controller. Among other things, you will probably want strings to be longer than 4 panels.
        CS6P-260P/SE3000 - http://tiny.cc/ed5ozx

Comment

• J.P.M.
          Solar Fanatic
          • Aug 2013

Originally posted by max2k

details, details- who needs them?
          Well, Maybe not the OP, but I figured a newbie either, 1.) might want to know how much area a 7.92 mW array might take+/- 10 acres or so, or 2.) that his research didn't include some of the basics like the difference between a Watt, a kWatt and a mWatt before attempting a system design. But then, what's 3 to 6 orders of magnitude +/- a few ?

Comment

• crustbottle
            • Sep 2017