Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jjrr007
    • Sep 2017

Usage or Capability of Inverter

I'm working on my first small off grid installation. Did a lot of reading and testing, and ready to begin - hopefully. I am a newbie though.

I have a 12 volt 5,000 watt inverter. I only will need about 2,000 watts based on my usage. I am planning to place a fuse from the inverter to the battery. I don't see that I will ever use more than 2,000 watts based on my actual usage (the inverters can handle a spike of 10K watts on the 5K inverter and spike of 4K on the 2k inverter). I want to understand this logic; so we can just assume it's the same inverter model- one is 5k and the other 2k.

Would I save a lot of power by just using a 2k inverter or would the savings not be significant if I use upto 2K watts on the 5k inverter?
    Last edited by jjrr007; 09-14-2017, 08:58 PM.
  • max2k
    • May 2015

Originally posted by jjrr007
    I'm working on my first small off grid installation. Did a lot of reading and testing, and ready to begin - hopefully. I am a newbie though.

I have a 12 volt 5,000 watt inverter. I only will need about 2,000 watts based on my usage. I am planning to place a fuse from the inverter to the battery. I don't see that I will ever use more than 2,000 watts based on my actual usage (the inverters can handle a spike of 10K watts on the 5K inverter and spike of 4K on the 2k inverter). I want to understand this logic; so we can just assume it's the same inverter model- one is 5k and the other 2k.

Would I save a lot of power by just using a 2k inverter or would the savings not be significant if I use upto 2K watts on the 5k inverter?
    Welcome!

For newbie/first project you selected very high power levels which could be very dangerous if you lose control of the system. I understand the size is relative but your 'small' setup could power my entire house . While I have a feeling you mixed up Watt-hours with Watts strictly based on what you wrote: