• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • extrafu
    Solar Fanatic
    • Apr 2016

Opinion on batteries

Hi guys,

We estimated our daily power requirements at 10 to 12 KWh per day once our new garage + house will be built.

The construction of our garage starts in the next coming weeks, but the house construction will probably begin in a year from now. So for the next 12-18 months, our daily power requirements will probably be around 3 KWh.

While we'll purchase right from the start the appropriate panels/inverter/charge controllers, we are hesitating on the battery bank. Our ultimate goal is to go with 12 Rolls-Surette 4KS25P (1350 Ah, 4 volts for a total capacity of 64.8 KWh), we are also considering using 8 Rolls-Surette S-605 (468 Ah, 6 volts for a total capacity of 22.5 KWh) to start with and change the batteries in about 18 months from now.

One reason that makes me think about going with the Surette S-605 is that I am new to this and I would prefer going through a good learning and care process with a 3,500 CAN$ battery bank than a 16,500 CAN$ one. Also, our power requirements are low for the next few months and if I happen to take good care of the batteries, I could probably sell them for a fair price after.

Any opinions on this approach?

Thanks!

• Sunking
    Solar Fanatic
    • Feb 2010

OK your plan SUCKS.

Now listen carefully before you get your shorts in a knot, I know WTF I am talking about. You said "your first set is a learning experience right?" Absolutely correct and you wil destroy your first set of batteries learning. Think of of it like a 16 year old first car. Would you buy them an Corvette to learn how to drive? Hell no you would not. You would be a fool to do that. No different here. Rolls are high end, even the 605's and you have no need for that much capacity. I wil save you a thousand dollars.