Shunt recommendation for Trojan L16 battery

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shunt recommendation for Trojan L16 battery

I'm replacing my SW4048 inverter with a Conext XW5548. So I won't be using my Midnight Solare E-panel with the very convenient built in shunt for my Bogart battery monitor. I need to get a new 500a shunt. I would like to find a shunt that bolts directly to my Trojan L16RE-A terminal or better yet directly to the negative terminal in the XW PDP.

Has anyone fit a shunt in the Conext PDP or on an L16 terminal without using an extension cable?
    Conext XW5548
    Conext MPPT60-150

Sounds like the preferred way, reduce the quantity of high amp connections . I've no experience putting them in, most likely going direct to a vendor and seeing what they suggest or have on hand.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister

Comment

I believe for a shunt to be accurate monitoring your battery it should be mounted at the negative battery terminal
      2.2kw Suntech mono, Classic 200, NEW Trace SW4024

Comment

Originally posted by hammick View Post
        Has anyone fit a shunt in the Conext PDP or on an L16 terminal without using an extension cable?
        No Sir but I take two huge issues with that approach and it makes no difference what manufacture you are using.