Rotating panels east to west ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rotating panels east to west ?

I'm new to solar and still learning a lot. My question right now is that I would like to get 5 300 watt frameless solar panels. My roof does not face the correct direction to get good sun. I'm on top of a hill and wanted to build wood frames for the panels and have then facing east as the sun crest the hill and then flip the panels facing west once the sun has past the panel so I can get the most sunlight. But I'm unsure if it's ok to flip the panels daily or often like that? Any help would be appreciated. Also need the best least expensive batteries I can use on a budget that will get the job done. Thanks in advance for any help.

Sounds like you want to home build a tracking array. I think it would be best to use solar panels with frames as frameless would require more structure to keep them from flexing. Given the current cheap price for framed panels I expect it may be better to buy more panels and fix them south. Trackers made sense years ago with panels at $10 per watt, they don't make lot of sense at $0.50 a watt unless your state happens to have a law written to subsidize trackers (like VT).

Comment

Solar modules are so cheap, you are going to be better off getting more modules. If you want a virtual tracker then face half of them south east and the other half south west. There is little point to doing a tracker with the cost of modules so cheap.
      OutBack FP1 w/ CS6P-250P http://bit.ly/1Sg5VNH

Comment

Nobody is honestly going to babysit panels to move them manually 8X every day.

Mechanical tracking systems have been made by hundreds of people. To withstand hurricane winds, they must be STRONG, but still move to track the sun. It boils down to the fact that they will cost you a lot of cash.
        4400w, Midnite Classic 150 charge-controller.

Comment

• Bjwilson
          Bjwilson commented
          Editing a comment