Upgrading to 24v????

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Upgrading to 24v????

I am new to solar as I bought 2 acres in the smokey mountains TN. Started with a 50w panel and Pwm 10a,p CC, living in rv for next 8-12 months while I clear and prepare to build. There is no AC electrical power here and probably never will be. So I will always be coming here for info. Thanks.
    I have upgraded to currently having 2-250w PV's, a Renogy 12/24-20/40 MPPT CC, 6-12v 100ah batteries running a 12v system. Iam upgrading it to a 24v system and am needing some help from people who know there stuff, as why I'm here.
    I currently use about 150 watts maxx per hr X 12hr maxx day= 1800 watt hrs day with nightly generator use on hot nights for AirCond.and 8 amp charger to fill batts back to around 13.7v
    I am upgrading to 24v and with the info I supplied could yall just plain out tell me how many total 12v batts and total # of 250w panels I will need for the 1800 watt/day with 2 day reserve. Also how to wire the PV's together AND wire the batts either series or diagonal series. Any diagrams would greatly be appreciated. Thanks guys and galls.
    Last edited by Jnj6370; 08-22-2016, 11:32 AM.

A good start would be to read the sticky threads in the Off Grid section of the Forum. There are descriptions and spreadsheets to help you do exactly that design process.

For wiring, start with http://smartgauge.co.uk
    Last edited by inetdog; 08-22-2016, 01:57 PM.
    SunnyBoy 3000 US, 18 BP Solar 175B panels.

Comment