Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • hermanr
    • Aug 2016

100% Off Grid Shop - Maybe small cabin in future

Hello, I'm new to solar and been doing HEAVY research but still getting stuck and ran across this forum. I have read and tried some searches to try and get me over the hump but still feel like I'm missing something.

Here is what I'm trying to do: 32x40 shop 100% off grid. Want a good starter system to grow over the next 1-2 years to handle most of my "light" loads fully via solar. So here is where I have made it and where I am stuck.

I plan to keep as much direct DC 12v as possible, so all lighting will be LED 12v running from a buck converter.

I plan to use min. 24v maybe 48v, this is part of the area I get lost in where you move from 24 to 48, is there a particular kwh that it makes more sense or if you know you want to grow just start with 48v?

I have a spreadsheet and I have it broke down by DC load, Inverter load and generator loads - when I need the compressor, welder - any large load I will run the generator. I also would like a setup that will allow the generator to auto start if for any reason the battery bank drops to X, not so much to charge but to stop the draw from the battery bank. I read the sticky regarding running a generator in order to keep cycles on the batteries down, this is the concept I want to deploy. It would be nice that if/when I need the compressor this function of the generator kicking in would be automatic (nice to have but not critical at all)

Here is a quick high level of where I believe my load(s) will be (shop is not built yet, hopefully by end of Sept. 2016)
    12v DC via buck converter = 1600 w/hrs per day (calculated on the high side)
    AC inverter load is roughly 8050 w/h a day. (some loads I am using internet avg.)
    Remainder Generator - still TBD size based on solar design and capacity - goal would be to slowly reduce my generator load as I learn and grow my "starter" system.