No announcement yet.

Plz recommend a Controller for this...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Plz recommend a Controller for this...

Hello! I have three panels, Suniva mono, 24v 325 watt each, totalling 975 watts. This will be mounted on a mobile RV platform. I got a great deal locally on the panels, now I'm buying the other components...looking like 6v Trojans will make up the bank.

I would like to run a 12v bank for simplicity. I'm was close to pulling the trigger on the TriStar TS-MPPT-60 MPPT because everyone seems to think highly of Morningstar. On a different forum (more RV related) a fellow says that he has that controller and has experienced it getting very hot and "clipping out" with a similar panel capacity. I don't understand this, as when I read the stat page it appears to say up to 3000 watts for that unit...but I'm not an electrician and I've never done this before.

So and advice or recommendations would be appreciated! ty

I guess I found part of the answer reading the Sticky by Sunking on inverters: "The largest amperage charge controller is 80 Amps! A 80 amp MPPT Charge Controller has the generic Power input limitations vs. Battery Voltage:
    • 1000 watts @ 12 volt
    • 2000 watts @ 24 volt
    • 4000 watts @ 48 volt"

So I would be trying to push (at peak) more than the 60amp controller is rated for. I guess my next question would be, is that dangerous or just inefficient?

Comment

In real life, it may work out OK. early AM, the sun will slowly start charging the batteries, and then by noon, the batteries may be full enough they don't accept too much power.
      You will have to keep a close watch on it. I run a 3KW array on my TS-MPPT-60, and it gets warm. Excess heat is caused by having the array at too high of a voltage, 2x battery voltage is fine, but trying to step 130V down to 12V will waste a lot of heat in the controller.