Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Lndmvr
    • Dec 2013

another newbie not wanting to get burnt

I have 2 sunpower spr-e20-435-com panels, 75 volt, 435 watts. My quest is to run a 35 ft RV with a 24 volt deep well pump for water. I am thinking Of using a Flexmax 80. I expect to start with 2-12 volt 220 ah batteries in series with a 24v to 120 vac tripp light 2424 hardwire inverter into a breaker panel. New to this and I’m thinking 24 volt will be more efficient as I add battery strings. Might step down 24 to 12 volt for some lighting. Also thinking 12v-propane- ac refrigerator. I look around to figure the math but so many variables confuse me. I am just trying to determine if it will work. I did go to electrical vo-tech in the 70's but can't remember at this age. Again, I'm just starting out and looking for help. Got the panels free and as the saying goes, free gets expensive. Thanks
  • Sunking
    Solar Fanatic
    • Feb 2010

Operate at the highest panel and battery voltage possible, and avoid parallel batteries.

The Flexmax 80 is a MPPT controller and has roughly the following maximum solar input power vs battery voltage.

1000 watts at 12 volts
    2000 watts @ 24 volts
    4000 watts @ 48 volts

Regardless of battery voltage you can run input voltage on the FM 80 to roughly 120 volts Vmp or 150 Voc. However if you hav enot bought the charge controller I highly suggest Midnight Solar 150 or 200. Much better product and more versatile.
    MSEE, PE

Comment

• Lndmvr
      • Dec 2013

Originally posted by Sunking
      Operate at the highest panel and battery voltage possible, and avoid parallel batteries.

The Flexmax 80 is a MPPT controller and has roughly the following maximum solar input power vs battery voltage.

1000 watts at 12 volts
      2000 watts @ 24 volts
      4000 watts @ 48 volts