X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • rc0213
    • Feb 2016

New Battery Shorts Out

Hi,

I am new to solar panel technology. I bought a 13 Watt portable solar panel, a 100 Watt solar charge regulator and a 12 Volt, 35 Amp AGM battery. I plug in an 750 Watt inverter and then plug in the device. After a while, the battery shorts and the inverter alarm goes off.

Am I doing something wrong? I did find out there are different inverters, and I just bought a sine wave inverter. I, also, bought an extension cord with a surge protector.

Before I reassemble the system, and short out the battery, can someone tell me how to avoid shorting out the battery?

Thanks,
  • Logan005
    Solar Fanatic
    • Nov 2015

Battery is not fully charged. have you used an AC charger to fully condition the battery? you may have already damaged the battery. Run a quick load test. If it fails it's already damaged. BTW It could take over a week for a 13 watt panel to top off that battery under typical conditions. the reason your inverter sounds an alarm, your under load voltage is dropping below 10.5 volts, and you should never allow an AGM to drop below 11.5 meaning it has already damaged and continues to damage your battery. I my self use a separate LVD to prevent this.
    4X Suniva 250 watt, 8X t-105, OB Fx80, dc4812vrf

Comment

• inetdog
      Super Moderator
      • May 2012

You need to be clear about one thing: The battery is not shorting out. The voltage is just dropping below the inverter's low battery sensing level while current is being drawn from it. The inverter will take power from the battery even if you do not have any load connected to the inverter, but with a load connected it could be pulling as much as 70A. That is too much for a 35AH battery.
      SunnyBoy 3000 US, 18 BP Solar 175B panels.

Comment

• jflorey2
        Solar Fanatic
        • Aug 2015

Originally posted by rc0213