Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • phazaar
    • Aug 2018

How and what to do with excess solar...

Okay, so here's an area I realise I've got no prior knowledge on, yet can't really find good resources for, so at the risk of universal condemnation, thought I should ask.

I've got a LiFePO4 battery setup, and my understanding of this chemistry is that float charging is a 'no no'. I'll be adding 400W of solar to this, which most of the time will only be adding supplementary charge amperage, whilst a generator/alternator provides the bulk of the input. Sometimes, if we've not used as much electricity as we normally would, I imagine the battery will be sitting comfortably at its 'high' point, and whilst I can stop the generator/alternator attempting to push voltage to it until it drops to a certain point, I can't do this with solar.

By can't, I mean 'can't, efficiently' - I assume my MPPT controller will allow me to select a voltage to stop trying to charge the batteries at*... But if this is happening during peak sun I'm wasting resources, and don't like that idea at all.

So, what I'd like is to be able to use that excess charge without passing it through the battery system. I'm intending to have a small 10L immersion heater which would be a prime candidate for using excess current - a bit like an extra battery but for heat energy. That way I can come in and either choose to top off the temperature of the tank, or temper it with cooler water depending on how much excess charge it's picked up through the day. Other thoughts include putting it through an alternator to trickle charge some of the stuff I would regularly charge when we've got a generator/shore power hook-up.

Now, is there a glaring problem with this? Is there a product I'd need to make it work? Is this really basic circuitry that I'm being an idiot in missing?

Any help, humiliation, or advice welcome

Cheers!