Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • joey117
    • Feb 2018

Home CCTV on solar ?

Ok to start with I am very new to everything solar I have a CCTV system installed around my house and I was hoping to put it on off-grid solar now I will be drawing approximately 48w maximum for 24/7 use my problem is I have tried to buy an inverter and when I plugged it in it end up damaging some of my electrical components so my question is , what is the correct inverter to use on sensitive electronics and does anyone have any suggestions on which one to buy

Thanks u for any help
  • SunEagle
    Super Moderator
    • Oct 2012

Hello joey117 and welcome to Solar Panel Talk

For some sensitive electronic equipment a Pure Sine Wave inverter is require. A cheaper mod sine wave can cause issues with both electronics and small motors.

While you did not mention your battery or inverter voltage I will assume it is 12volt and 120volt.

A 48w load running 24 hours is over 1.1 kWh which may require a battery system that can provide 4 times that amount. At 12volts you would need a battery system around 400Ah and a PV wattage system around 500 watts along with an MPPT type CC rated at least 45Amps.

So I would check out the pricing for that system and then figure if spending about $3000 is worth it or find a way to get grid power to your CCTV system.

Comment

• joey117
      • Feb 2018

Thank you very much for your information it is much appreciated this system can be 12 or 24v it does not matter and unfortunately I am in the UK so my voltage requirements will be 240 volts , to be honest this all this just to get my feet wet in solar I always find it very interesting topic and I'm just looking to implement it in and a small way if it is unaffordable that will be unfortunate

Comment

• SunEagle
        Super Moderator
        • Oct 2012

Originally posted by joey117