Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie to Solar setting up Motorhome with grid tie panels.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie to Solar setting up Motorhome with grid tie panels.

I am a newbie to solar and have only put together one system that was for minimal use. Now I have a class a motorhome and want to use the following components that I have.

1. Tristar MPPT45 and remote meter
    2. 2 - Silvo Triex U305 watt panels 57.5vmp, 5.2imp amp, 2 panels 305 each 610 watts total. I have 25 of these that brand new panels for future projects or future barter. Panels will be tilted on mounts as needed for boondocking, I live in the Mojave Desert.
    3. 2 - Trojan T-1275 12volts 150 ah batteries. I had the two T-1275 batteries from an other project less than a year old.

I plan to wire the 2 panels in parallel, panels wires are 12 gauge 40 inches each to a Y connector then 8 gauge 20 foot to controller input side and controller to batteries 5 foot to 2 T-1275 batteries in parallel. It will 15 amp fuses on each panel and a switch to kill the solar before the cc. From there another switch between cc and battery separator marine style selector switch (off-1-2-both) to batteries 300 amp breaker just before batteries. 4 gauge welding cable total cable run 4 foot. All runs are one way.

Is there anything I need to add or not use. I plant to put a Trimetric TM-2030-A Battery Monitor System meter on it in the near future.

A 1200 to 1500 pure sine inverter will also be added in the near future. to run micro wave total of 30 to 45 minutes a day, toaster for 20 minutes most days. charge and run 2 laptops and 2 smart phones, 12 volt went fan 15-30 minutes a day and house LED lighting and 32 inch led flat screen (news when riots and looting starts) 2 hours 4 days a week

The motor home has an onan 5500 generator for backup power but we prefer not to use it daily, only when needed to run AC or from poor sun conditions.