I'm cluless and overwhelmed...please help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm cluless and overwhelmed...please help

I'm new to solar panel so please forgive my ignorant questions. There's a vast amount of information I've read through that I have difficulty absorbing it all.

My issue is very simple and, I think, is easily answered. I have a camper shell that I've built on the bed of my truck. I want to run a simple fan to keep me cool. I may want to also run a DVR player with a TV at a later date (but the DVR/TV will be an upgrade later). I can capably install a solar panel, charge controller and inverter if it's a plug and play type.

So, here's my questions:

1) can I use a small deep cycle battery? Say, the size of a lawn mower battery?
    2) I will be storing the battery in the enclosed camper where I will be sleeping. Is there a danger of me dying during my sleep because of some gasses being emitted from the battery during charge/discharge?

I have read through all the watt/watt hour conversions and that's where I get lost. This is a one time installation so I just won't get too involved in all the technical calculations.

I would like to keep my cost under $300 and would need to permanently install the panel and equipment. I'm looking at some solar panel kits from one of the big box stores.

Thanks for tolerating my ignorance. And thank you in advance for the information.

kevol

Welcome
    Briefly, no, a small battery won't work for much more than half an hour. Like a fuel tank in a truck, Just need 2 gallons of gas, and I'll be back in an hour to get 2 more.