Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Hobby 12 Volt System Trojan Batteries...Total Beginner

Hey Everybody,

So we just had Hurricane Matthew here in NC. I'm sitting here with no power and just started thinking about solar power. I have looked over some you tube videos of people doing a tiny house system and things like that. I'm pretty confused at this point as to what kind of Amp Hours I could actually use out of my system i'm thinking of making.

So i guess my big question is: What could a system like this run realistically if I want to keep the batteries at least 80% charged at all times ?

Lets pretend the system only gets used for power outages to run minimal things or out in the garage to run things just for fun.

So far on the youtube videos I've seen that id definitely like Trojan Batteries so I will use Trojan T105RE batteries x 2 in a 12 Volt system.

I was a little bit confused as to how to keep these 2 batteries charged to 80% at all times, so I saw this IOTA charger from AC power. I think you can plug this IOTA into any 120 outlet (Grid Power) or during an outage a small generator (I do have a brand new Honda EU2000i generator. But i hate using it because gas is annoying to fill and it makes noise, but I would gladly use it to charge my battery system. but yes plug the IOTA into the generators 120AC

Im choosing to keep the batteries charged to 80% at all times because trojan shows that the batteries will last much much longer.

I know next to nothing about Solar panels, Charge Controllers, Safety and how to be extra safe around battery and solar systems. Am I missing anything?

Thanks for any advice.

The answer almost means reading the entire forum.

The most basic step is to measure your power needs. We can't do that for you. Ammeter or something like the P3-International Kill-A-Watt meter is your FIRST purchase.

1) How long are your power outages? How many day(s) support do you need?