Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • nickbarton
    • Sep 2016

12 volt battery solar panel system

Hi I am new to solar panels, I have set up a 60 watt solar panel (4 x 15W amorphous weatherproof solar panels) on my shed roof they got into a 10A charge regulator and this is connected to a 12volt leisure battery.
    I had this set up and nothing draining the power from it overnight and this morning. The regulator was turned off. When I came to look in there this morning the battery had shot out a load of liquid (water?) from the top. It had not exploded or anything put the stains on the wall show the liquid was released with force.

Is this because the battery had tried to overcharge? Does the regulator always need to be left on? Is this battery now dead?

Thanks for any help
  • maple flats
    Solar Fanatic
    • Oct 2011

First of all, those 15 watt Harbor Freight panels are a poor choice, even for starters and the charge controllers are poor too. What is a leisure battery? If lead acid, To know if the battery is junk, you need to test it. Do you have a 12V plug in charger (car)? If yes, hook it up and try to charge the battery. Most likely the battery is good yet, but not if you leave it discharged very long. A lead acid battery does very poorly if run down below 50%, and then it must be re charged right away. If a leisure battery is a sealed lead acid, it may have over charged and the "water" may be electrolyte (battery acid). Use backing soda to neutralize it, and be very careful. If it "boiled over" do not plug it in to charge it. Are you saying the charge controller was shut off but the panels were still connected to the battery? If yes, do those panels tell what their max. voltage output is (should be a label on the back giving 5-6 or 7 values). If so, list what they are.
    As for the charge controller, leave it connected all the time, there are diodes to prevent power from being drawn out of the battery after shut down.