X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • SunnyD
    • May 2016

12v setup review, Safe enough?

Hi All,

This is my first post on the forum I am selfishly looking for advice and guidance on my 12v setup for my shed. I am new to all this have limited electrical knowledge so if I sound like an idiot, sorry in advance!

I have recently setup a system in my shed but have since disconnected after the realisation that I am not sure how safe it is. I would like some guidance on if I have my fuses in the right places and if my cable ratings are ok. The system is only supporting 3 MR16 LED lights at present but I would like to add a 12v socket for a small radio at some point.

Here are my components with links where possible, My main question here is whether this is a safe setup or do I need something more. When finally installed all wiring will be concealed in conduit and blanking boxes where required.

Charge controller 30amp

Battery 12v 7ah

25watt panel

30amp cable between battery and controller 7.5 amp blade fuse as close as possible to battery + terminal
    30 amp cable connecting solar panel to controller
    8 amp cable for lighting circuit, 3 amp blade fuse between lights and load terminal on controller.

I am also using a 30 amp terminal block to wire the lights in parallel (is this a good idea / bad idea??)

I don't know how to draw circuit diagrams, in fact I am not sure I can even draw but I have attached a diagram to show my setup. Sorry it looks like it was drawn by my 5 year old daughter.
    If I have missed the point / key detail please let me know.

Thanks
    SunnyD

You do not have permission to view this gallery.
    This gallery has 1 photos.
  • ewarnerusa
    Solar Fanatic
    • Apr 2016