Solar on our Motorhome Van, but not sure which controller to get ? help please

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Rixsta
    • Apr 2016

Solar on our Motorhome Van, but not sure which controller to get ? help please

Hi

Was just wondering if anyone can help us, Ive been researching for a couple of months everything solar, I have lifelong interest in electronics and understand some things.
    I recently found myself 3x 220w solar panels, they produce about 47v max each. In our self converted camper I am planning on running my laptop, an amplifier and a few lights etc

my problem is the van voltage is 12v and I would like to also charge my battery bank using a split charge relay or something similar so that the battery bank can be charged by solar and by the alternators power when driving.

This led me to think that a 12v system would be best...but I bet you can imagine the problem!
    660w Panels
    Divided by
    12V
    = 55A
    which means I would need a very expensive Charge controller if going with MPPT.

So was just wondering what anyone here thinks ? any ideas of what I could do ? If I created a 24v system I would have a problem charging a 24v bank from the 12v van power!

Thanks
    Rik
  • Amy@altE
    Solar Fanatic
    • Nov 2014

You don't say how big your battery bank is. Trying to shove 55A into too small of a battery bank may be too much if it's a small battery bank.
    Solar Queen
    altE Store

Comment

• Mike90250
      • May 2009

It will be tough to step up that 12V to 24 for charging. But you now know one of the limits of 12v systems.
      What's on the sticker on the back of the PV panels. Whats the # for Vmp and Voc ?