Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help re: overload? Or faulty controller?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help re: overload? Or faulty controller?

Hi all, I am new to this. The setup I am building is for running a satellite node which transmits photos from remote locations over the iridium network (Instant Wild, if you've heard of it). I can't speak to how much power this unit uses but suffice to say it is well below what this system is spec'd for. We have designed the battery set up to have enough amp hours to last several months during periods when the sun does not come up (arctic winter).

Panel: 100w

Batts: Two 12v 120aH VRLA

Controller: SunSaver 10L-12v

Today I connected the batts in parallel and connected the panel into the pre-wired controller. I have not yet connected the satellite node as I wanted to ensure the batteries were fully charged before running the whole system (the sat node connects directly to the batteries anyway). I placed the panel in direct sun and let er rip. After about five minutes I noticed the positive terminal on the battery terminal of the controller was smoking and I disconnected the panel. Both batts read 12.6V. Blackened wire + melted plastic:

What caused the controller to overload/melt?

My operating theory is that the controller failed. I saw no lights come on at connection and no indication of life, even though the batteries had good charge and the panel was well lit.

Thanks

Kris (noob!)

What size fuse do you have between the battery and charge controller? Is the system grounded anywhere?

Just FYI... putting the batteries in parallel the way they are pictured will unbalance them over time. Google "diagonal wiring".
    Last edited by sensij; 04-21-2016, 05:36 PM.
    CS6P-260P/SE3000 - http://tiny.cc/ed5ozx

Comment