Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Grad
    • Mar 2016

Yeti 150 and Renology 50W panels

I am a graduate student conducting fieldwork in a remote village in the Amazon. There is no electricity at my site, so I need a solar setup in order to charge camera batteries and my laptop. Portability is extremely important to me as well as ease of setup (I have very limited experience with solar panels and setups). I have done some research and have come up with the following setup:

Goal Zero Yeti 150 Solar Generator - As far as batteries go, this seems pretty lightweight. I also like that it has a battery display built in and that seems helpful for a newbie like me.

Renogy 50W 12V Monocrystalline Lightweight Solar Panel (X2) - These seem very lightweight and transportable. I would chain two of these 50W solar panels in order to charge the Yeti 150. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00LXK3YQI/...I3GRS2HYUC3V58

MC4 branch connectors - To chain the two solar panels

Adaptor cable for Yeti - MC4 adaptor to connect panels to Yeti

Extension cable - I need a bit of distance between the panels and the Yeti

Basically, my question is simply if this setup makes sense. Am I missing anything crucial? Am I making any silly mistakes?

• SunEagle
    Super Moderator
    • Oct 2012

Hello Grad and welcome to Solar Panel Talk.

Usually those canned systems cost too much and delivery very little.

I would ask you that before you purchase anything first try to determine how many watt hours you will use at your remote site charging your camera and laptop.

Once you have that we can help you design your system so that you do not end up with too little battery or panel and be in the dark after a couple of weeks.

Comment

• Grad
      • Mar 2016

Hi SunEagle, thanks for the response.

I have a Macbook air with a 45W charger and two camera battery chargers that are 5W and 6.5W each.