Enter Zipcode

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Questions and help needed on small solar project

Default Questions and help needed on small solar project

Hi this is my first post, I'm new to solar power I bought a 45 watt kit from a popular hardware store. not sure if I'm allowed to say it on here. Also purchased a deep cycle battery,
    but here is my problem the charge controller stops charging at 12v and my power inverter cuts off at 11.5 so that does not leave me much power for use.
    I thought I could fix this by adding another battery but most inverters I see are for 12v.
    So how do you guys have a multiple batteries?
    Thanks in advance

Ok I bought a harbor freight kit which has 3 15 watt solar panels a thunderbolt magnum 4 amp 12 volt charge controller...
    a chicago electric 400watt power inverter.
    a everstart marine battery with 845 cranking amps and 122 amp hours @ 1 amp

Administrator

Go ahead and tell us exactly what you bought Brand and model number and the specifications of each item.
    Not enough information in your post to determine anything. There is something amiss with the CC only charging to 12V but there may be adjustments on it to change that.
    Rich
    WWW.solarsaves.net

NABCEP certified Technical Sales Professional

http://www.solarpaneltalk.com/showth...Battery-Design

http://www.calculator.net/voltage-drop-calculator.html (Voltage drop Calculator among others)

www.gaisma.com

Ok I bought a harbor freight kit which has 3 15 watt solar panels a thunderbolt magnum 4 amp 12 volt charge controller...
    a chicago electric 400watt power inverter.
    a everstart marine battery with 845 cranking amps and 122 amp hours @ 1 amp

Administrator

I couldn't find any documentation on the CC that relates to charging voltage.
    Best thing is to contact Harbor freight tech assistance.
    Rich
    WWW.solarsaves.net

NABCEP certified Technical Sales Professional

http://www.solarpaneltalk.com/showth...Battery-Design