Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Deep Cycle & Car battery daisy-chained

Greetings,

Newbie from Boston, MA is asking if it is "safe" to daisy chain a deep cycle and a car battery together for a RV? From what I've read, I connect positive-positive and negative-negative, with the deep-cycle being "closer" to the RV connection, since that battery has the smaller, thinner posts to the RV wiring. I've also read that these batteries should *not* be daisy-chained, but don't understand why (I'm no electronics expert). The only components I wish to power in the RV are the refrigerator and lights, however the deep-cycle battery alone only lasts 2-3 days. Sometimes our camping trips last longer.

Also, what type of solar panel would be good enough to trickle power to the battery setup to keep the fridge running and cold between weekend camping trips ?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Originally posted by sonnyo916 View Post
    Greetings,

Newbie from Boston, MA is asking if it is "safe" to daisy chain a deep cycle and a car battery together for a RV? From what I've read, I connect positive-positive and negative-negative, with the deep-cycle being "closer" to the RV connection, since that battery has the smaller, thinner posts to the RV wiring. I've also read that these batteries should *not* be daisy-chained, but don't understand why (I'm no electronics expert). The only components I wish to power in the RV are the refrigerator and lights, however the deep-cycle battery alone only lasts 2-3 days. Sometimes our camping trips last longer.

Also, what type of solar panel would be good enough to trickle power to the battery setup to keep the fridge running and cold between weekend camping trips ?

Thanks in advance for any advice.
    They're two different creatures with different charge and discharge properties. I would not do it.