X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • natel
    • Apr 2012

Safety and Legality of DIY Small 300 Watt Grid Tied Inverter

So, I'm in California and I'm fairly new to solar and I'm wondering if I can create a very small diy grid tied inverter system with a couple of 120 or 150 watt panels. Are there any inverters now that are smart enough not to cause a danger to PGE or my electrical company in the case of a power outage? I believe that name for that feature is called an auto disconnect? Is that right? Are there any plug and play kits that are not terribly expensive?
  • billvon
    Solar Fanatic
    • Mar 2012

Originally posted by natel
    So, I'm in California and I'm fairly new to solar and I'm wondering if I can create a very small diy grid tied inverter system with a couple of 120 or 150 watt panels. Are there any inverters now that are smart enough not to cause a danger to PGE or my electrical company in the case of a power outage?
    Every grid tie inverter out there will disconnect when the grid goes down. This feature is called "anti-islanding."

Are there any plug and play kits that are not terribly expensive?
    They're are, but there are no systems out there that are legal to just "plug in." They have to be installed into the structure to be legal, and have features like dedicated circuits, external lockable AC disconnects etc.

Comment

• natel
      • Apr 2012

So, there are not that I can simply connect the positive and negative terminal from the solar panel and plug it into an AC outlet and be done? It sure seems like there's a lot of these selling and a lot of people doing this, are there not?

Originally posted by billvon
      Every grid tie inverter out there will disconnect when the grid goes down. This feature is called "anti-islanding."