Enter Zipcode

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: 48V Battery Array charging

Default 48V Battery Array charging

Hi, I am new to solar panel stuff so please excuse my stupidity !
    I have a 48V Toro Workman utility vehicle (like golf buggy). I would dearly love to keep it, problem is, I have to take it home to charge it as there is no mains electricity up on my land. I have a cattle shelter and shed where I can park it securely but no means of charging it. I wondered if it would be possible to have a solar panel set up that would be up to the job of maintaining charge of the vehicle. It must be added, that I do not use it every day (usually) and in any case, would never usually take it down to below 30% charge. I do not have money to burn, so cost would be an issue, but I natuirally expect any solution (if at all possible) will not come free. Please help. Cheers Jim

Solar Fanatic

Well it can be done, but cheap is not likely in the picture. Before I give you any examples what size are the batteries in Amp Hours and your location.

Typical 48 volt golf cart batteries AH capacity range a bit from 180 to 300 AH. Using a medium of say 225 AH at 30% discharge is 3300 watt hours. That is a lot of power for a solar system. Using a 2 day model to recharge depending on your location could be anywhere from a 1000 to 2500 watt solar system, easily $2000 to $6000 just in panel cost alone.
    MSEE, PE

Default Reply