I'm new at this [Sunny Beam Monitor Issue]

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm new at this [Sunny Beam Monitor Issue]

Hi guys I'm new to all of this soar PV stuff. I'm from Brisbane Australia and for me this is a new toy to play with but like usual new toys sometimes generate problems.

Originally posted by Blackman View Post
    l new toys sometimes generate problems.
    So - describe the problem, we'll either be able to help, or not, maybe.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister

Comment

yes, I am using an SMA Sunny Boy 2500 inverter with two strings of 170 watt panels, each string has 6 panels and what was happening was the combined voltage of each string was not sufficient enough to fire up the inverter, so what we had to do was series them up on one string which did fire the inverter up, but after looking at the specs, these panels in series on load, 12 of them produce around 410 volts DC which is off the sweet recommended spot for efficiency from the manufacturer as the manufacturer says it is recommended to have around the 330 volt mark per string on load and having around 400 plus only reduces the efficiency of the system. I have been recommended to buy 4 more panels, put two in series per string and this will solve the problem of the inverter not firing up and also will put it close to the window of efficiency.