Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is there a reliable stud finder for locating Rafters?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is there a reliable stud finder for locating Rafters?

Hi, new to the forum but have been installing solar PV systems for the last 18 months in the UK. I have just recently moved to Canada and I have been fitting systems here for the last 5 months. The installation techniques are different here due to the plywood over rafters roofing structure with shingles as the roof covering.
    In the UK you can simply remove the roof tiles to locate the rafters whereas here you need to measure the rafters from inside the attic and drill a hole next to a rafter as a point of reference on the roof.
    My employer whilst he understands this technique is concerned about the roof leaking in the future due to the winter climate we have here in Canada and the hot summer causing the sealant we use to crack and eventually fail.
    Sooo my long winded question(s) are, has any installers on here managed to find a stud finder that can locate the rafters through the shingles consistantly as I have found stud finders unrelaible on dry wall let alone through 3/4" plywood and shingle. If you guys have please can you recommend one, also any experience of how better to seal these roofs if you have a hole to fill.
    Thanks in advance for any replies

Stud finders won't work. Shingles are to heavily insulated. I've tried it all. Tack 3 hours onto initial bids to compensate for the time spent in the attic. You are going to need it.

If you are popping holes in the roof I can only recommend Henrys 208R caulking tar for holes smaller than 1/4".

Comment

Originally posted by vinniethePVtech View Post
      Stud finders won't work. Shingles are to heavily insulated. I've tried it all. Tack 3 hours onto initial bids to compensate for the time spent in the attic. You are going to need it.