X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • NABCEP Russ
    • Feb 2011

Hello

Hi, I'm a solar engineer in PA. I own my own integration company. I am well versed in primarily grid tied installations and am happy to give advice and help with any questions people may have.
    Your single source for sustainable home improvements: [URL="www.eco-merica.com"]www.eco-merica.com[/URL]
  • russ
    Solar Fanatic
    • Jul 2009

Hi Russ, A couple of questions if you would -

The NABCEP part - is that sales certification? Installer certification?

The solar engineer part - what discipline is that a branch of? Electrical or electronics engineer specializing in solar possibly?

What does the NABCEP certification specifically qualify you to do?

Solar Integrator? Does that mean middle man? Or is some beneficial service provided?

Russ
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Comment

• NABCEP Russ
      • Feb 2011

Originally posted by russ
      Hi Russ, A couple of questions if you would -

The NABCEP part - is that sales certification? Installer certification?

The solar engineer part - what discipline is that a branch of? Electrical or electronics engineer specializing in solar possibly?

What does the NABCEP certification specifically qualify you to do?

Solar Integrator? Does that mean middle man? Or is some beneficial service provided?

Russ
      I hold NABCEP PV installer certification.

When I said solar engineer I was referring to the electrical engineering of turnkey solar systems. I design systems not components.

NABCEP doesn't give any specific qualifications. It's the most widely recognized solar certification in the US and is used by many state incentive programs to qualify installers. In order to get the certification you have to prove a certain level of experience in the field as well as pass a rigorous exam covering design, installation, and safety procedures.