Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Question about grid-tied residential solar system pricing...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about grid-tied residential solar system pricing...

I received a quote for a solar power system for my house. I guess I am trying to figure out if this is like buying a car, or shopping at a department store.

In other words, do you haggle on the price like buying a car, or is it more like shopping in a store where this is the price, take it or leave it?

I am a noob when it comes to this stuff.

The quote was for 30 Sunpower Corporation, SPR-230-WHT-U, 230W Single Crystal Grid Connect Module, White Backsheet panels.

and 30 Enphase Energy, M210-84-240-S11/2 micro inverters as the equipment they are using.

The price quote was around $36k installed with the company doing all permitting, labor, etc. My price after all state, federal, and nyserda rebates would be about $12K.

Thanks.

No like any contractor work the bid is it. That is why you should get at least 3 bids.
    MSEE, PE

Comment

Like Sunking said - always get three quotes and try to understand them - this is a lot of money!

If a contractor is willing to haggle it means trouble to me.

It is very difficult to haggle when you don't really know what should be in the package and the difference between qualities/specs.

The Enphase inverter is a value if you will have partial shade on your system. Otherwise they offer no extra - regardless of the sales spiels given.

The Sunpower offers high efficiency but when you look into the details they seem to have tweaked the numbers they use so they can look good. A 220 Sanyo should outperform a 230 Sunpower.

A free tool for comparing panels is available at http://www.solardesigntool.com/

If you learn what the components are worth you can see approximately what you are paying for permits and installation. It might help make you more comfortable with the purchase.