Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie! - Panel needed to charge 18v (3 6v in a series)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie! - Panel needed to charge 18v (3 6v in a series)

I am VERY new to solar and electricity in general. So, please forgive my basic questions and respond assuming I know nothing. Please!

I have purchased 3 of the below batteries and wired them in series to a Power Wheels car to create 18 volts of power. My daughter has been riding this for a couple weeks and all is going well so I don't have any issues with running 18v to Power Wheels. (I visited modifiedpowerwheels.com to make sure this was good.) 18v is SO much better/faster than 12v

Batteries:
    http://www.gruberpower.com/6-volt-12...our-ah-battery

I want to charge these batteries with solar power, just a fun project to learn and do something cool. I don't really want to just buy a solar panel, I would like to build one (I know, probably not the best idea but I am doing this to learn). I will move over to DIY for actual build but I am here because I don't know what I need to charge my batteries.

MY QUESTION:
    How many volts/watts/etc do I need to put out to charge my batteries? I would like to put a roof on top of the Power Wheels that holds my solar panel, this way it can be charging the batteries at all times when the car is outside. I understand I will need a charge controller as well, so any suggestions there would be appreciated. Should I wire the batteries in series to the motor to get 18v but wire them to the charge controller/solar panel in parallel so I charge 6v? Is that even possible to have them wired both ways at the same time?

Possible Solar Cells:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/High-Efficie...item27fa770f93
    Or
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/40-WHOLE-3x6...item2ee3ce3311
    Or
    Your better suggestion?

Thanks in advance!

Welcome.

Well, don't buy anything more yet.